29 Jul 20

UK fleet managers' association announces new board members

The association that represents fleet managers in the UK has appointed new board members and confirmed the structure of its five specialist committees.

The chair of the Association of Fleet Professionals (AFP) is Paul Hollick, managing director, TMC, while Stewart Lightbody, most recently fleet director M Group Services Plant & Fleet Solutions is deputy chair, and Rick Baird, new business director, Marshall Leasing, is AFP company secretary.

Merger ACFO and ICFM

The AFP was formed in March by the merger of the Association of Car Fleet Operators and the Institute of Car Fleet Management.

The new association has five specialist committees covering Electric Vehicles, Low Carbon and Alternative Fuels; Light Commercial Vehicles; Future Roads; Risk, Compliance and Health; and Future Mobility Steering.

New board

Its other board members include Peter Eldridge, James Pestell, national sales manager IFC Group; Debbie Floyde, group fleet and risk and facilities manager, Bauer Media; David Brown, head of business development, Applied Driving Techniques;  Denise Lane, head of group fleet, Capita; Martin Evans, managing director, Jaama; Peter Milchard, fleet risk consultant; Marie Jarrold, car fleet controller, British Car Auctions; and Chris Joyce, business consultant, 360vs.

Paul Hollick said: “We are extremely excited about the calibre of people involved at both board and committee level, and are looking forward to seeing the work that they will produce over the next few months, as everyone rises to meet the challenges of the new normal. The coronavirus crisis means, we believe, that the AFP is even more relevant today than when it was first envisaged just a few months before we entered lockdown, with a very real need for professionals across the fleet sector to now share and access best practise ideas to handle the very many issues that are arising.”

Authored by: Jonathan Manning